Skip to content

Ike’s Bedroom: Green, Blue and Wild Animals

September 9, 2010

A few weeks ago I posted a long laundry list of tasks that I wanted to complete.  Well, I can check two of them off: finishing Ike’s bookshelf and hanging quilts in his room.

For those of you who are new to the blog, Ike is my toddler son.  Let’s take a look around his room.

The quilt was made by Ike’s grandmother (my dear mother-in-law) and it was really the jumping off point for the room.  She knew that I wanted the room to have bright colors and involve animals, so she planned the quilt accordingly.

So, what exactly to we have here:

  • The animal menagerie includes my husband Steve’s old toys, souvenirs from my trips to Australia and Thailand and, yes, stuffed animals that were actually given to Ike.
  • The I-K-E letters are from JoAnn Fabrics.  I spray painted them to match the room.
  • The dresser is from an unfinished furniture store; we finished it ourselves.
  • The bookshelf was (mostly) made by me with some crucial help from Steve.  I painted it with oil-based enamel paint.

And here’s the rest of the room.

  • Ike’s crib is solid wood, no dropside.  I made the sheet.  Making crib sheets turns out to be incredibly easy and good excuse to buy a few yards of a fun print.
  • I made the curtains out of leftover fabric from the quilt.  I lined them with white muslin to help block out the sun and keep them looking nice from outside.
  • The frog quilt was made by my aunt for Ike’s first birthday (or was it Christmas?).
  • The chair is a lazy boy recliner.  My mom insisted on getting me a comfortable chair to nurse in, and she turned out to be absolutely right.
One Comment leave one →
  1. September 30, 2010 4:53 pm

    What a sweet room! I love the quilt.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

