Skip to content

Bedroom Paint

April 26, 2010

Our whole married life, Steve and I have slept in bedrooms someone else painted.  And that’s about to change.  Here’s what our bedroom looks like now.

Steve made the bed and the bedside table, and they’re gorgeous.  Besides that, most of what you can see will change.

On our honeymoon, we bought a print of maple trees in full fall foliage.  I’ve been meaning to frame and hang it for years now.  I also have a white and navy comforter cover and a wool hooked rug from L.L. Bean.  All I need is a paint color that will pull it all together.

I found this photo in Can’t Fail Color Schemes, one of the few home decorating books that’s worth buying.

scanned from "Can't Fail Color Schemes" by Amy Wax

I like this look.  I like the contrast of the crisp white against the blue.  What would you call that?  Slate blue?  Prussian blue?  I like the warm wood against the cool blue-grey tones.

I’ve gone through several potential paint colors.  I considered pale blue, but started to worry it would look too fluffy.  I thought about dove gray.  Now I’m thinking about going dark.  It will make the room look dark, but … so what?  It’s a master bedroom, not a playroom.

I’ll post pictures of the bedroom as we make progress.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 28, 2010 6:27 pm

    Maybe New York’s tiny rooms have inculcated a sense of claustrophobia in me, but you need a huge room if you are going to paint it a dark color. Aside from that portentous decorating admonition, grayish blues are really lovely!

  2. June 22, 2010 4:04 pm

    I’ll have to find a book like that. I am so bad at picking colors. (Popped over here from Simple Mom, btw.)

    • June 22, 2010 4:30 pm

      Hey, thanks for the comment. Try your local library. I like to get glossy “coffee table” books from the library-it’s a lot cheaper than buying magazines.

Trackbacks

  1. Project Queue « Rachel Writes

Leave a Reply

