Skip to content

Sewing Success

June 15, 2010

I have bad history with self-made garments.  I don’t think I’m a bad seamstress.  I can put in a zipper or a hem like nobody’s business.  But for some reason, the things I make never seem to look right.  The projects just don’t gel.

Until this.  This is possibly the first piece of clothing I’ve made that looks like RTW (that’s ready-to-wear, for those of you who don’t frequent sewing blogs).  It’s also the first piece of clothing I’ve made without a pattern.

Is that the secret?  Did I crack the code?  Is drafting your own patterns the key to making clothes you actually like?  I sort of hope not, because I went crazy at the last pattern sale at Joann’s.

I still can’t believe I made this.  I made this. Rock on.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2010 4:27 am

    Great job! What a fun outfit. I take it you drafted your own patterns for all of it then?? I’m reading a library book on pattern drafting…I’m so excited to try it myself.

    • June 15, 2010 11:09 am

      No, the top is from Ann Taylor Loft. Sorry for the confusion 🙂

  2. June 23, 2010 12:27 am

    You do look stunning in it! It fits like a glove. A big pat on the back for yoU! xo m.

  3. Kat Haight permalink
    July 18, 2010 6:02 pm

    That’s awesome! It looks amazing on you!

Leave a Reply

